Haaris Health Program logo

UT/LBJ Clinical Services

Peter D Doyle, M.D.

Anesthesiology Service
Chief of Service: Peter D Doyle, M.D.
The hospital has six operating rooms in which approximately 4,000 cases are completed annually. Additionally, the obstetric service with 6,500 births annually requires anesthesiology support. Get additional information from the Department of Anesthesiology at The University of Texas Medical School at Houston.

no photo available for Richard D. Robinson, M.D.

Adult Emergency Center
Chief of Service: Joseph P. D'Addesio, M.D.
The Emergency Center is a full-service facility that provides all aspects of emergent patient care 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. A Fast Track operates 8 hours a day, 7 days a week to treat non-emergent cases. Take a look at the Department of Emergency Medicine at The University of Texas Medical School at Houston.

Chris Ojeih, M.D.

Family Practice Inpatient Service
Chief of Service: Chris Ojeih, M.D.
The UT-LBJ Family Practice Service (FPS) provides hospital inpatient care for all adult, geriatric, obstetric, and pediatric patients referred to the FPS from all UT-affiliated HCHD community clinics. In addition, the FPS admits patients from the emergency center as part of the daily admission MED-SURG team in the hospital. The FPS team comprises a PGY3 and two PGY2 residents supervised by an onsite FP faculty. Psychiatric interns and medical students rotate through the service during their Family Practice elective requirements.

Obstetric delivery and triage evaluation services are provided for patients enrolled at the Family Practice residency clinics from Acres Homes and Aldine clinics. The resident physician in charge of the prenatal care services attends the delivery of their patients. Supervision is by the on-site or on-call Family Practice faculty.

The FPS also provides outpatient Primary Care services through the Family Practice Clinic (predominantly serving the Medicaid-HMO patient population) and the Primary Care Geriatric Clinic (serving the Medicare geriatric population). These two clinics are operated by Family Practice faculty and are located at the 4C Unit.

As part of the effort to establish a comprehensive geriatric care service for the hospital, the FPS (with assistance from the UT-H Geriatric Fellowship program) provides inpatient geriatric consultations to other clinical services in the hospital, operates a Geriatric Home Visit program as well as a Geriatric Interdisciplinary Evaluation clinic. The geriatric services team is made up of a Geriatric Nurse Practitioner, Geriatric Fellow and a PGY3 Family Practice resident. Supervision is by a fellowship-trained geriatric faculty.

For additional information check out the Department of Family & Community Medicine at The University of Texas Medical School at Houston.

John R. Foringer, M.D.

Medicine Service
Chief of Service: John R. Foringer, M.D.
The Medicine Service is structured with four general medicine ward teams that take all admissions as a team every fourth day for 24 hours and typically admit 10-14 patients daily. Teams of two residents, two to three interns, and students follow between 18-25 patients. Full-time Internal Medicine faculty supervise team rounds daily. Most faculty in the Department have staffing duties both at Memorial Hermann Hospital and LBJGH.

The two other inpatient services include Cardiology and MICU teams. An MICU pulmonary/critical care team of 3 residents and 3 interns is supervised by Pulmonary and Critical Care faculty and fellows. This team MICU shares calls with the Cardiology team, supervised by Cardiology faculty and fellows, to create a one-in-four call schedule for these services.

The Medicine Clinic on the first floor sees hospital follow-ups, obstetrical and surgical patients with medical problems and general medicine consults. All sub-specialties have clinics weekly and active inpatient consultation services. Many residents choose to have their required longitudinal clinic experience at LBJGH. Other Internal Medicine house staff rotate in the emergency room at LBJGH.

For additional information check out the Department of Internal Medicine at The University of Texas Medical School at Houston.

Erin E. Furr-Stimming, M.D.

Chief of Service: Erin E. Furr-Stimming, M.D.
The Department of Neurology provides both adult and pediatric neurology consultative services during the daytime staffed by two residents and a faculty member. Take a look at the Department of Neurology at The University of Texas Medical School at Houston.

no photo available for Sebastian J. Faro, M.D.

Obstetrics and Gynecology Service
Chief of Service: Sebastian J. Faro, M.D.
The obstetrical service currently has 62 postpartum/antepartum beds; a Labor and Delivery Unit with 8 labor beds that can be expanded to 16; an intensive care room with invasive monitoring capability; two operating rooms; three delivery rooms; a Special Care Unit; and Midwifery service; Perinatal Testing Unit; and a Neonatal Intensive Care Unit with 16 Level III beds and 56 intermediate/transitional beds.

Visit the Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology & Reproductive Sciences at The University of Texas Medical School at Houston.

Jose Garcia, M.D.

Pediatric Service
Chief of Service: Jose Garcia, M.D.
The Pediatric Service at LBJGH consists of an In-patient and Out-patient Service.

The In-patient Pediatric Services consists of a Pediatric Ward with 27 beds, 13 NICU (Level III) beds, 30 Newborn Special Care (Level II) beds, and 40 bassinets for Normal Newborns (Level I).

The Pediatric Out-patient Services has a General Pediatric Clinic with approximately 8750.00 visits per year and Pediatric Sub-Specialty Clinics with approximately 3250.00 visits per year. In addition there are approximately 20,000 visits yearly to the Pediatric Emergency Center.

Visit the Department of Pediatrics at The University of Texas Medical School at Houston.

Joseph Hasapes, M.D.

Radiology Service
Chief of Service: Joseph Hasapes, M.D.
Capabilities include angiography, computerized tomography, nuclear medicine, ultrasound, and x-ray.

Tien Ko, M.D.

Surgery Service
Chief of Service: Tien Ko, M.D.
Includes general surgery, orthopaedic surgery, oral maxillofacial surgery, plastic surgery, and urology.